Wolf Eyes 6A/cree 4 stage Diffused

FASTCAR

Banned
MY diffused Wolf Eyes 6a /cree with my diffuser goes well over 300' with a wall of light.

Spotted a groundhog at 300+ feet in the pitch black...and his coloring looked just fine .I think he gave me the finger though....I ruined his night adapted vision :mecry:

I find spotting MUCH easier with a flood then a bright spot.

Derek Dean

Flashlight Enthusiast
Well.... I'm looking forward to trying out one of those diffused WE 6M/Cree 4 stage lights, although I've got a feeling I'll be using it on the 20% level most of the time. But dang, it's sure good to know I'll be able to spot groundhogs at 300 feet if I ever need too! :)

BTW, what color IS a groundhog? Seriously, I find the whole color rendition topic very interesting because I was a professional color printer for many years, and know how important the color of light is for successfully lighting a subject, and while I generally like the way most of my LED lights give a whiter appearing light, I have found that in reality they are lacking enough red to make people, in particular, look a little pale. Just my observations so far.

Of course, incandescent lights generally provide a tint in the yellow/red range, but that can be seen as a pleasing enhancement to most environments.... providing a feeling of warmth, which I think is why a lot of folks prefer them for some lighting applications.

I guess I'm most surprised that there aren't more R/G/B based LED lights out. Seems to me it would be a pretty simple thing to do. I know I've seen a few.... but I guess there just hasn't been enough interest to generate the research and development needed to produce them in quantity at this point.