Is this a good flashlight?

smvtsailor

Newly Enlightened
Hi!

I'm looking for a good flashlight for general/rough use, as well as some possible search and rescue work in the future. It therefore should be submersible. I've found this one by Lumaray, called the FL-12RX. As I am a noob, do you guys see anything negative about this light? I want to be sure about this before making such a significant investment. Thanks!

KingGlamis

Banned
Looks like a cool flashlight. Although 86 lumens is not considered awesome, it certainly is plenty bright for most uses. My only suggestion is to see if you can run other batteries besides the C-cells (I'm sure you can but I'm no expert [yet] on batteries).

TigerhawkT3

Flashlight Enthusiast
Well, it sure does look awesome, and those who buy one generally like it. I'm not too fond of it, though, as it uses clusters of 5mm LEDs and direct drive (dims slowly throughout use). It's also kind of expensive.

I would recommend a Streamlight ProPolymer Luxeon, in 4AA or 3C. These two lights, especially the 4AA, are extremely popular around here.

If you haven't yet, check out www.flashlightreviews.com/index1.html.

Archangel

Flashlight Enthusiast
I have one and like it. It's a good general-purpose torch, but doesn't have the reach for S&R work. Since you're not against high-dollar torches, definitely check out the Heliotek HTE-1A. They haven't updated their site yet from the old model, but it looks the same, so can be used just fine for getting a feel for it. I've started a review of the new version. It does lack a dark adapted mode like the 12RX, but off the top of my head, i can't think of any throwers that accomodate that.

jki

Newly Enlightened