Help Answer my question ? Borealis vs. 10x Dominator

kcee7

Newly Enlightened
I am going to be using this light for police work mostly car stops and want it to be able to shine through window tint. Which light would you buy ?
THank you for your advice as I am a flashlight newbie.

bendlite

Newly Enlightened
I think Bones has it right. Both lights are more likely to blind you by reflection than to allow you to see inside the car.

I have used a Borealis extensively for 11 months in off-road travel, including numerous(!) caves and abandoned mines. [We spent more than a month in death Valley poking into everything we could.] i think EXTREMELY HIGHLY of it, both concept and build (and for me, the convenience of getting the whole package ready to go from Juan C.)

The Borealis is great for caves and mines, allowing not just visibility but also photography that just coudn't be done any other way (than with a very portable but brilliant light source.) I love it and find the recharging extremely easy and inexpensive via the solar panels and inverter on my vehicle.

But if you shine that light at some glass, you can't see squat!! So, I think your answer will have to come from some personal experimentation as to what you can shine and still see re: tinted windows. More lumens are likely to backfire. As with any work situation, you have to tailor the light to the task and its requirements.

Good luck.

kcee7

Newly Enlightened
Nevermind my tactical use as I am already set with that. I need a powerful light. My strion is not powerful enough.

I have seen comparisons of the m6 vs. Borealis but never the Dominator 10x vs. Borealis can someone enlighten me as to which may be the better light ? THanks.

iced_theater

Enlightened
Well I've never used a Borealis, but I do own a 10X. It's my work light and I think would be a perfect light for shining into windows as you have a choice of either the stock 60 lumen bulb or 100 lumen bulb, and then the ultra bright 500 lumen bulb.