LED Vs. Incan

InspectorJon

Newly Enlightened
Well you guys seem to collect flashlights and I seem to loose them. I am a building inspector and spend a lot of time in dark places like under houses and in attics. I have had lots of lights over the years. The ones that have served me best are the Mag rechargeable (heavy but a work horse), PolyStinger (not as bright but easy to carry) and the UltraStinger (bright but does not burn as long as Mag). I need a bright light that lasts at least 1 hour and has recharge capability so I don't have to buy batteries on a daily basis. I was wondering if any of the new generation of bright LED lights fill this need? I am not one to spend $100 just to see if it works out. I have been looking at lights with the new Cree XR-E LED. Any advise?

Marduke

Flashaholic
Rather than limit yourself to a rechargeable flashlight, I would recommend using rechargeable batteries in more conventional flashlight.

bendlite

Newly Enlightened
I srongly agree with marduke.

A very inexpensive light that uses all forms of AA batts, incl. lithium and rechargeable NiMh is the Streamlight PolyPro 4AA Luxeon, approx $35 US. Very powerful and reliable; it runs for almost 4 hrs continuously on one set of batts. I've used it in many demanding environments all over the globe, and it just keeps on working!!

Also, if you are not familiar with it, look at Flashlightreviews.com. This is the most comprehensive and objective site for flashlight comparative info that I know of.

John

LED_Thrift

Flashlight Enthusiast
Welcome to CPF, Inspector.

I too agree with marduke - get some good NiMH AA batteries and get a Streamlight ProPoly 4AA Luxeon or a Fenix L2d-CE [2 AA batteries].

I'd advise staying away from the highest rated NiMH AA batteries - those rated above 2700 mAH [milli Amp Hours], some of them seem to have durability issues. Good batteries go on sale periodically at RiteAid, Target, Wally World etc. There is a lot of info on the Batteries forum here.