Arc 4+ Switch?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Greta

Flashaholic
Originally posted by nmiller on 8-05-07 HERE:

Whats the deal with the arc 4+ switch? Can it be repaired? What goes wrong with it?

Thanks,

Nick

Greta

Flashaholic
Copied replies:

karlthev08-05-2007 12:10 PM
Re: Arc 4+ Switch?

Hmm, hot question I'd say. I'm no expert by any means but, the Arc 4 had a switch very sensitive to battery length as well as to shock. Initially the wrong battery length would create a bunch of difficulties later, wth some improvements, the switch did experience more relaibility however, the switch some say, lead to the demise of the Arc 4 and Arc itself. Clearly there were more issues than the switch but it did not help Peter Gransee. Can it be fixed? How's about it depends? I have several Arc 4s and performance varies from light to light--one is flawless and the light is a shelf queen. Another I just recently acquired, is about as fine a one as I've encountered. The switch is not one easily repaired I'm afraid. Let's see what soem other members have to say on this one.

Karl

nmiller08-05-2007 01:22 PMRe: Arc 4+ Switch?

Thanks Karl. Hopefully more will chime in. What happens if the switch does malfunction?

Nick

karlthev08-05-2007 01:27 PMRe: Arc 4+ Switch?

I didn't do a search and I forget who was working on these and sometimes successfully as I remember. I believe as well that Peter (Gransee) was "offering" $150 for each one returned that did not function properly. Try a search for Arc4+ and see what comes up. There is a vast storehouse of information on this.

Karl

nmiller08-05-2007 01:47 PMRe: Arc 4+ Switch?

Karl,

I've been looking. You are right. There is a lot of info out there and so far I'm not too thrilled about picking one of these up.

Nick

karlthev08-05-2007 01:49 PMRe: Arc 4+ Switch?

Do a search for this one. It gives quite a bit of information.

"Who still uses their ARC4+?"

Karl

karlthev08-05-2007 01:49 PMRe: Arc 4+ Switch?

PM to you.