LED Spotlight suggestions

Beer

Enlightened
I got this light at Wal-Mart $5.00 on clearance

http://www.garritylites.com/page92.html

Garrity 1w Luxeon Spotlight.

So the first thing I do of course is take it apart.

The star is loose held in place with a small plate. Three screws abd the star is swinging free on two wires.

I've never done an LED mod before but I'm thinking this light is a good easy place to start.

So, what to replace the star with?

Cree? Soeul? Rebel?

What is the highest bin / brighest of each of these?

Heatsink? No Heatsink?

Thanks!

DaFABRICATA

Flashlight Enthusiast
Try the new royovac 4watt 3-C cells Cree light. I got one for $25.00 and it throws better than any other LED light I have.....I'm a little upset considering the lights I own.
The head twists like a mag to adjust the focus and it uses an optic, man does that cree throw!!!
Check out some of the threads and reviews on this thing, you may save a lot of time and money if you are looking for an LED that throws like crazy!
Best $25.00 i've spent on a light-Hands Down!

jbosman1013

Enlightened
I agree i got that light last weekend and its very bright and it would not be hard to mod in a Q5. the runtimes are a big + also

Beer

Enlightened
Well Im planning on getting the ROV 4W anyway...

But I really like the garrity, and I do want to mod it with a simple star and maybe heatsink.

So what should I put in there?

DaFABRICATA

Flashlight Enthusiast
I have had great success with the Seoul P4 LEDs.
I would definetly use something as a heatsink.
Maybe you can find a converter board/driver that has multipe levels(high/med/low)?

loving light

Newly Enlightened