check out my first nice flashlight. what's your review?

grass disaster

Newly Enlightened
http://www.cabelas.com/cabelas/en/t...lashlight&Ntx=mode+matchall&N=4958&trueNum=44

this is my first (higher end) flashlight i ever purchased. it has high and low.

it's has me kind of interested in flashlights now. this thing is much brighter than the ol mag light.

what do you guys think of this flashlight. i got the 5 watt one. it was on sale for $42.

i want to take this with me hunting. should i carry a back-up in case the bulb breaks or are these lights hard to break?

Last edited:

Oddjob

Flashlight Enthusiast
Re: check out first nice flashlight. what's your review?

It's an LED (Light Emitting Diode)so there is no bulb to break...however, you should always carry a back up light in case the light fails for another reason. I have no experience with this light but it looks reasonably good.

the servents of twilight

Newly Enlightened
Looks like a very nice light. For a brighter LED light try one with a Cree led, SSC led, or a Rebel led. Those 3 are the newest/brightest Leds.

Derek Dean

Flashlight Enthusiast
Howdy grass disaster, and welcome to CPF,
Yes, by all means you need a second light as a backup, and then you need a good keychain light, and then don't forget one for the car, and of course you'll now need one for the little lady, and then Mom and Dad will need theirs upgraded, and...... oh well, I think you get the idea. :D

For now you could use your old Mag as your backup light, just make sure you have fresh batteries for it, and do take a couple of spare batteries for your new light too.

Then, when you have some time to look around CPF, you can start thinking about any other lights you might need. You will find that hand held lighting technology has advanced quite a bit recently, and with a bit of prudent research you can set your self up with some fine lights for not to much money (or... a lot of money... the choice is yours).