12v predicament

milob40

Newly Enlightened
can any of you gurus help my predicament ?:thinking:
i want to run 3 or 4 cree q5 emitters of 12v (up to 13.5v) for a solar lighting project , does anyone know wher i can get a driver to run this , do i need a driver for each emitter or can i run it all on one driver? all the site i look up seem to refer to amps for drivers but doesn't voltage play a big part too? does the voltage have to be stepped down to 3.7v and then driven at .7 -1 amp to achieve desired result?
if running 3 emitters do i need a diver that runs at 3 amps?
please be patient with me as i am new at this game .
thanks heaps in advance , regs, milo :twothumbs

Mash

Enlightened
Depends on your driver of course.
Usually drivers run LEDs in series at a certain current.
So you get eg 4 crees in series all being driven at 700mA. The drivers usually are constant current, ie they adjust the voltage to deliver the same current (within their spec of course). The voltage output is dependent on the drivers type (buck, boost, ie reduce or increase the input voltage), and the input voltage (ie they can increase or decrease the output within a certain range).
Have a look here, read up the datasheets, and you will get a better idea of circuits and possibilitites.
I started the same way from zero knowledge!
I am sure the more you learn the more questions you will have, so feel free to ask, and me or someone more knowledgeable will answer!
Good luck!

milob40

Newly Enlightened
so is there a specific voltage we must run a cree with (3.7v ideal )
or is it just the total wattage that counts?
like running 350ma on 12 volt:thinking:
once i sort this out i can sleep at night:thanks:

bfg9000

Flashlight Enthusiast
This is a good question because other possible 12v uses include automotive applications like dome lights.