2D Maglite mod questions

Firecop

Newly Enlightened
My first post (and hopefully one that won't irritate the CPF community)! I've been lurking for a while, and love this site.

A little about myself: I'm an arson investigator, and spend most of my time crawling around in dark, smelly, carcinorgenic fire scenes. Needless to say, flashlights have become extremely important to me. I currently use an Inova T4 as my general purpose light; it can be used at fire scenes, as well as a tactical light with my sidearm.

I'd love to modify my old 2D Maglite to something like what 3rd Shift has done: https://www.candlepowerforums.com/posts/2134721

However, I do have some questions...I've already bothered him, and thought I'd spread the irritation ;) I have little EE knowledge (like-don't touch the wires), so I'm having some issues.

1) He used a direct drive of 4 Crees off 6AA through a 5W 1 Ohm resistor. What are the advantages of doing it this way vs. using a driver?

If I were to get an 8AA-2D adapter, use 2700mA Powerex AAs to power 4 Crees:

2) Should I wire the emitters in series or parallel; what are the benefits of each? 3rd Shift's tutorial says that his emitters are in parallel, but aren't they also in series?

3) Should I try to supply 1Amp to each Q5 emitter? Why or why not?

4) Would a single 1000 mA Downboy be able to supply that current to all 4 emitters? How would I figure out the resistor needs for the Downboy?

5) What's the difference in functionality between plastic optics and reflectors in 3rd Shift's mod?

Thanks in advance, and I really have tried researching these questions, but I've not been able to find an answer that I can understand. I'm anxiously awaiting enlightenment! (pun intended)

DonShock

Flashlight Enthusiast