Which to to buy? Tiablo A9 w/ Cree or LumaPower MRV SE w/ Cree

GBone

Newly Enlightened
I can't decide which to purchase...

Looking for great throw, and will be using CR123A, no rechargeables.

Also, it is not for EDC, just certain situations...

I thought I saw a chart that showed the A9 had a better regulated run time at full output. It appeared that the A9 ran at full brightness for most of the time and then simply shut down, and that the MRV gradually declined its output through most of the batteries life.

I'm new to the high powered LED's, so please help... Thank you for your input!

cmichael

Newly Enlightened
I can't decide which to purchase...

Looking for great throw, and will be using CR123A, no rechargeables.

Also, it is not for EDC, just certain situations...

I thought I saw a chart that showed the A9 had a better regulated run time at full output. It appeared that the A9 ran at full brightness for most of the time and then simply shut down, and that the MRV gradually declined its output through most of the batteries life.

I'm new to the high powered LED's, so please help... Thank you for your input!

I like my A9 alots, don't know much about about the MRV running time, But my A9 can throw nicely in 100 Yeard..:twothumbs
TiabloA9013.jpg

Last edited:

daveman

Enlightened
Hello Bone, if you'll be running your light on CR123s, I recommend you go with the A9. It outputs at peak level for around 2 hours regulated. You will have a few minutes of declining output to remind you it's time to change to fresh batteries. I would go with the A9, it throws farther as well.

clintb

Enlightened
I haven't taken delivery of my new MRV SE yet, but went that route because of two things:
1. Styling of the MRV. Yeah, call me weird, but it looks better to my eyes.
2. I like the how the light output is adjusted with the rotating ring.

Crossing fingers it gets delivered tomorrow...

Patriot

Flashaholic