Heatsink design?

Twitch

Newly Enlightened
I'm really new to LED, especially the high powered ones. I was rcently testing a generic LED I bough on ebay

Here were the spec:

Product Number
LE-LL001
Product Name
High Brightness 3W 80 lm White Lumen LED, 1 pcs
Emitted Color
White
Intensity Typical
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]70 ~ 80 Lm [/FONT]
Viewing Angle
160°
Forward Voltage
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]3.6V ~ 4.0V [/FONT]
Forward Current
650mA
Item Net Weight
10g / 0.4 oz​

Now I was running it on a bench at 3.7V with a regulated power supply. Being new to this, I just screw the MCPCB onto a a 2 inch^2 0.1 inch thick piece of aluminium. It was running fine and all for 10 minute, temperature reach around 60C, then poof gone. It must have overheated:laughing:

Now I no longer have any LED to play with :p, I'm waiting for my order of Cree XRE P4 to come in.

So I'm wondering anyone have and idea how big of a heat sink I need?(flat piece of aluminium) It doesn't need to be super precise, but just enough and not too large. I won't be running it in a flashlight.

Last edited:

znomit

Enlightened
At 60 degrees it should be fine.
Did you have thermal paste between the led and the aluminium? This lets the heat pass from the led to the Aluminium. From there it gets dissapated to the air...so having it sit above the bench so air can flow around it helps. The more surface area the better.
The term "heat sink" is not really good...you want a "heat pipe" to transfer the heat to the air. If you cant direct air flow over it then surface area is the only practical way to improve things.

If you can comfortably hold it its probably not too warm...but the cooler the better.

James Jackson

Newly Enlightened
ummm... there is more to these LEDs than just the voltage spec.

Did you also limit the current to it? It is spec'ed at 650mA - so you need to have a constant current driver that limits the current to a 650mA (or less).

If you don't... *poof*