Best single 123 light?

SouthNarc

Newly Enlightened
Hi guys,

Newbie here so if I've violated a protocol I apologize.

I'm interested in some opinions on the best single 123 LED flashlight. Money is really not a concern. I'm looking for the brightest, most durable and feature laden there is. I would prefere a tailcap button that turned off and on quickly...nothing that screws.

I did use the search function and acquired some good information, but frankly I'm a neophyte and a bit out of my depth, hence the directed queston.

Thank you!

Hodsta

Flashlight Enthusiast
From your list of requirements I'd check out the Novatac 120P, there are loads of posts and reviews about it and a serach will yield loads of info - it has everything you are looking for. A modded HDS EDC may also be a good choice for you.

I would also check out the McGizmo forum for the TiPD-S - it is not the brightest or feature laden as bightness and features are dispensed with to produce a light that is bright enough for most tasks, has a simple and reliable piston/twisty engagement and gives a EDC perfect run time. IMHO the best single cell EDC out there.

SouthNarc

Newly Enlightened
Thank you sir I appreciate that. I have indeed been looking at the Novatac line as they seem to fill the bill. I thought maybe I was missing something more high speed that I didn't know about.

who

Newly Enlightened
Hi SouthNarc,

I like single 123 LED flashlights too. My recommendations are, in price order:
  • Fenix P2D
  • Surefire L1
  • Novatac 120P
  • Surefire TW4 with Mc2/ES
  • Aleph A19 with GD driver
  • McGizmo PD-S
I hope it helps. You can also IM me so we can talk over the phone to clarify things.

Last edited:

Delta

Enlightened
Been a long time since I perused SDF...is that the same purveyor of pain that lived there (and made the HAK video)?

+1 on the SF L1. I also love my Fenix P2D, which puts out an astonishing amount of light for its size.

Casual Flashlight User

Flashlight Enthusiast