Same LED & battery but different brightness. Ultrafiire 602c vs Fenix L0D-CE

bessiebenny

Enlightened
I'm a noob when it comes to flashlights so please be gentle... =)

I was wondering why a flashlight from Fenix and DX which uses same LED and same battery (ie: 1 x AA or AAA) have varying levels of brightness.
(Mostly, Fenix is brighter?) Is it that much more difficult to make a flashlight brighter using the same LED and same batteries?

I am not a flasholic "yet" and so I cannot justify "yet" the purchase of a tiny light such as Fenix L0D-CE for over $40...

So I am leaning towards purchasing Ultrafire 602C for $19 instead...
https://www.candlepowerforums.com/threads/172973

Just wondering if it is really worth the extra $25 or so for L0D-CE?
(Worth as in, is it much brighter, more durable, much better overall?)
I can buy another flashlight or batteries / charger with that extra $25....

Last edited:

PocketBeam

Flashlight Enthusiast
Same LED and same battery, but different electronics. Kind of like why does a four cylinder Porsche go faster then my four cylinder Toyota, they both run off of gas.

Also some flashlight simply are not as bright as they could because they want longer battery run time, or they are worried about the heat the LED generates.

The Fenix has very good electronics, so they can get very high brightness and still have very long run times, comparably. Also the over all quality of the Fenix is very good. The DX lights, well some are good and some have problems. Seems like a quality lottery to me.

What convinced were the battery run times that selfbuilt did. Search for the charts...

TigerhawkT3

Flashlight Enthusiast
This is one of the questions answered in the Welcome Mat, which is located in Questions/Problems/Suggestions. Here's a reprint:

Q: What are "direct drive" and "regulated"?