Just ordered a LM301

jdong

Newly Enlightened
Hello everyone, allow me to introduce myself:

My name is John, I'm a sophomore at MIT studying EE and computer science (Course VI to those who understand MIT course numbers!). If you happen to be a Ubuntu Linux user, you probably know me as the ubuntuforums.org administrator and developer.

I consider myself entry-level flashlight-a-holic. I first got lured into higher-level (i.e. not dollar store) flashlights by QuickBeam's flashlightreviews.com. I've been lurking here for around a month now. My first "real flashlight" purchase was the 3rd gen Inova X1. We've had quite a few hot discussions about this topic, so I won't say much other than I personally am satisfied with the light as an EDC. I proceeded to go on an Inova buying spree too, getting the 2007 XO and X5 for myself, and the new T2 for my dad as a present. I like Inova's build quality and price point. They might not be the newest LED tech, but IMO they're still good lights -- excellent build, responsive customer service, easy to use. My X5 is a great flood light and my XO is a great throw light. Both have runtimes that fit my need, though they are more likely to be sent to serve as emergency lights thanks to CR123A shelf life.

Being a nerd and all, I can't stand being a generation behind in tech. I did a bit of homework and found the Lumapower LM31 (301? What do they call it nowadays? :D) fit my bill. My complaints with my current flashlights were:

(1) The X1 is a good EDC but only truly effective at closeby distances. Sometimes I want a bit more throw.
(2) The X5 has the brightness and throw I like, but a bit too much for short distances. I like to go jogging through trails at night, and find that if I shine the X5 in front of me too closely, it'll knock out my night vision in a flash.
(3) The XO is both bigger AND brighter than the X5, making it even worse for EDC or night vision.