Ultrafire EMR1 Dead-On-Arrival

zed

Newly Enlightened
I'm just getting into the whole 'real' flashlight thing and purchased a Fenix P3D 100 Premium a couple of weeks ago. Being really happy with the Fenix, I thought I'd see what the cheaper brands are like, so went for the UF EMR1.

It Arrived this morning from Hong Kong and doesn't work with the supplied battery, nor one of my own batteries.

In addition to not working, the battery is very hard to remove once inserted. It took me a good 10/15 minutes to remove the battery.

Is there anything I can try to get this working, or do I just accept it being dead.

I've contacted the seller to see what they suggest, but if I need to return it to Honk Kong, in general, do sellers expect the buyer to pay for return postage? If so, there would be no point in returning it due to the postage costs from the UK to Hong Kong.

Any advice is appreciated!

Thanks
Z

p.s. I can't help feeling I should have gone for the Fenix P1D CE for £25 ($50?) instead!

Norm

Retired Administrator
What battery are you using? there is plenty of room even for a protected cell.
Norm

zed

Newly Enlightened
I've tried both the standard CR123A that was supplied free with the light, and also my UF RCR123A Protected battery.

Neither work, and both get stuck :mecry:

onthebeam

Enlightened
Hang in there. It's a terrific light and I'm sorry to hear yours may have problems. In mine, the battery fits easily, too. Most dealers are pretty good about replacements for defective items. You may have to be a bit patient waiting for the replacement, though.

zed

Newly Enlightened
Quick update; While reading your comments I thought maybe the reason it isn't working is because the battery is so tight it isn't making contact, so I just pressed firmly on the battery and it went further into the light by approx 3mm - and it worked!!