Looking for edc

cgk

Newly Enlightened
Newbie here. I am looking for an inexpensive flashlight and need your expert opinion. What I am looking for is an LED light with ballpark 100 lumens. It needs a pocket clip and a tail switch. It does not need a multi-function but a strobe would be nice. Now for a curve ball, I would like it to be around a 2aa or 2 123's. Reason is I would like the option of using it as a self defense striking instrument. So it needs to be thin yet long enough to extend beyond my grip. I look foreword to you suggestions, thanks.

Monocrom

Flashaholic
What exactly do you mean by "inexpensive?"

The Surefire L5 meets most of your needs.... but I doubt that $189 would be anyone's definition of inexpensive. If it weren't for the pocket clip, there would be a few good choices.

djblank87

Enlightened
Fenix L2D Rebel fits you needs except for the pocket clip,
175 Lumens on turbo
Strobe
Tailcap Switch
Lumens level can be choosen by user so you have a lot of choices. It just does not have that pocket clip :mecry:.

All for around $65 shipped from numerous companys/stores.

Good Luck.

Monocrom

Flashaholic
With Regards to both DX and Fenix lights that were mentioned above: If brightness at a low price is most important to you, then they are good choices.

However, some CPFers have had problems with DX in general. (Check out the Jeers sub-forum on this site for details).

Fenix lights have a better reputation than DX lights, as far as quality is concerned. But you can forget about using either line of lights as a self-defense striking tool. THAT level of durability just isn't there.