stuck between tiablos and MRV.....

Saiga

Enlightened
i'm looking for a serious thrower, solid quality for as reasonable price as i can get away with. the tiablo A8 has my eye lately at $95, and i'm wondering if i'll later be wishing i'd have spent the $35 extra on the upgraded A8 or the A9. keep in mind i'm new to this high-end light stuff, so $100 on a friggin' flashlight is something i'm still struggling to justify !!!
also, the MVR is going for $78 at DX, but it seems i've read about a few quality control problems with lumapower. any help appreciated....

clintb

Enlightened
As you've noticed, there are a few choices when it comes to the throwers.

Tiablo:
A8 (CREE Q2)
A8 Q5 (CREE Q5)
A9 (has Q5 by default)

LumaPower:
MRV (CREE Q2)
MRV SE (CREE Q5)
MRV (from DX, CREE Q2)

A point to note about the MRV from DX. It is unsupported by LumaPower, thus carries no guarantee from LP. There's a whole sticky story behind that one and is discussed on this forum somewhere.

Recent tests show the Tiablo's out-throwing the MRV SE. I bought the MRV SE because of the design and upgradeable nature I've read about.

I would go with any of the Tiablo's, but stick with an authorized dealer for the MRV. I know others have purchased the DX MRV, but I haven't and probably wouldn't, if just for the warranty issue.

mikekoz

Flashlight Enthusiast