A few P3D questions

npkeith

Newly Enlightened
I've had my eye on a Fenix P2- or P3D for the last few weeks (probably one of the premium rebels, but I might go for the CE models). Anyway, I had a few questions -

1) I've been lead to believe that rechargble cr123's are not a great choice - they go to a high enough voltage that you lose the low mode on the flashlight, and then when they drop enough to give access to all the modes, they are almost dead. Has anyone noticed this, and is there an alternative? I'm also really confused by the list of different battery models - I understand that an 18650 is supposed to be equivalent to 2 cr123's, but it is a little fatter and won't fit into a P3D. Is there another rechargeable that I can use to replace 2 cr123s?

2) I currently carry a Taskforce 1w (POS from Lowes) on my belt at work - I'm a nurse practitioner and I need a light for the "open up and say aah" stuff. Unfortunately, the ~20 lumens it puts out is too much to shine in someone's eyes at close range to check their pupils, and too dim for some of the holes I have to look into (lets just say I work for a surgical service and leave it at that - OK?) I'm thinking that an adjustable P3D is a good choice - right?

3) Speaking of belts - the holster that comes with a P3D has a belt loop right? In the pictures I can only see the nylon lanyard loop-looking thing at the top.

Khaytsus

Enlightened
I've had my eye on a Fenix P2- or P3D for the last few weeks (probably one of the premium rebels, but I might go for the CE models). Anyway, I had a few questions -