Flashlight Throw

andyross

Newly Enlightened
Hi folks, first post so forgive me if I ask questions that have been asked before. Recently bought one of the new SF L1's and am very impressed indeed. First thing I did was shine it in my eyes to see how bright it was, scientific I know :whistle:, and wont be repeated again. When playing outside at night noted that it appeared much brighter than one of my fenix lights rated at much higher lumens. Someone suggested that yes it may be brighter but probably appeared so as throw was better than fenix which had a better flood.
My question is if I wanted a flashlight with a really tight beam/good throw out to maybe 100 yds is there anything on the market in LED that will do that for around $200. Would also like it to be a quality flashlight as now I have tried Surefire I can see why everyone was going on about how hood they are.
Your suggestions will be welcome just dont get too technical all at one please as I'm new to this :thinking:.
Cheers Andy

bondr006

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hey Andy,

Welcome to CPF. The L1 is a very good first light to own, but as you said....now you are spoiled with a Surefire and it will be hard for anything else to compare. I have the Tiablo A9S LE Q5 and am extremely impressed with its throw and build quality. A friend and I took it out to some local soccer fields and I was illuminating the restrooms from almost 800 feet. I think right now that this light is the farthest throwing production light. I like it a lot and would recommend it.

image1wf7.jpg

Last edited:

selfbuilt

Flashaholic
:welcome:
Yup, your best quality LED throwers right now are the Tiablo A8/A9 or Lumapower MRV. The Dereelight DBS is new on market, but not in anyone's hands yet.

To get a feel for how well they throw, here's StefanFS' two excellent threads with great pics:
LumaPower MRV - 100 & 200 m Beamshots & Runtimes! MRV Deconstructed. Now FluPic'd!