new light....no fire

SR.GRINGO

Enlightened
I'm a bit new to the custom lights in fact this is my first. I ordered a fivemega FM 700L with 3 of Aw's 17670's and a pila charger. I also ordered the gold bi-pin ceramic socket, and extra battery holder, Hola WA1185. Upon recieving the product last night I charged 17670s and right now they measure in volts: 4.18, 4.20, 4.18, and the holder measures 12.56. There is no light:confused: So before bothering fivemega I figured I would see if I am making some mistakes. I tried changing the bulb and that didn't help. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Nebula

Enlightened
It could be the battery holder - or the battery orientation in the holder that is causing your problem. It could also be the anodizing at the tailcap. Check the face of the tc and the butt of the light body for anodizing that may not have been removed completely. There have been a number of threads on these issues so you might try a search. Good luck.

Here is one thread on the subject - http://candlepowerforums.com/vb/showthread.php?t=147729 (discussion starts at post #95)

Last edited:

RickyT

Newly Enlightened
Might need multiple clicks to get it going?

Check voltage at the bi-pin socket.

Check continuity of bulbs to make sure they're good.

Illum

Flashaholic
probably irrelevant, but my auroralite mod for my minimag's ceramic socket is slightly temperamental being that the metal contacts can be pushed out when installing the lamp causing the assembly to function intermittently, check the orientation of the lamp and make sure both pins are securely in their corresponding sockets [the metal part inside the ceramic part]

also, theres the probability that your lamp is DOA, even if lamp filaments "look" continuous, it could be dead

SR.GRINGO

Enlightened
Thanks for all of the sugestions. I tried everything and have a few more questions....

Is there supposed to be a tail spring with fm's battery holder?