looking for some VERY strong epoxy/glue

milkyspit

Flashlight Enthusiast
Best Plastic to Plastic Glue?

I'm doing a project soon where I need to glue a Radio Shack battery holder into one of those clear Otterbox cases that BatteryStation sells. I want the holder glued in there really securely, so whacks and drops won't dislodge it. But I've had bad luck glueing (sp.?) plastic to plastic, especially using the soft polyethylene (the "garbage bag" plastic) they make those battery holders out of.

What's my best bet for making a really GOOD bond between these parts? /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif

JohnK

Flashlight Enthusiast
Re: Best Plastic to Plastic Glue?

I am NOT an expert, but when I want to glue something forever, I use a two-part epoxy.

This stuff will seal an engine block crack. Waterproof, etc.

paulr

Flashaholic

There are different kinds of plastic and they need different kinds of glue. I think not much will stick to polyurethane, and the adhesives for it actually contain a solvent that partly dissolves the plastic, so that when it hardens again, the result is more like a weld than a glue bond.

For the battery holder to the otter box, your best bet is probably screws rather than glue, with RTV sealant or something similar around the screws to keep the holes sealed.

darkzero

Flashaholic* ,

[ QUOTE ]
JohnK said:
I am NOT an expert, but when I want to glue something forever, I use a two-part epoxy.

[/ QUOTE ]

Yup epoxy should work best. In your case with the battery holder, epoxy made for plastics or the durable/flexible type epoxy should work best.

Local Walmart has the epoxy made for plastic called "Plastic Welder" and the durable epoxy is called "Super Poxy".

whiskypapa3

Enlightened

Weld it in with Hot Glue. The hi temp yellowish kind made for wood from Home Depot, Sears etc.. Scrape good to remove left-over mold release. Work glue into parts with tip of gun.