Tiablo A9 vs. Peak First Responder

turbodog6

Newly Enlightened
Newbie here, looking for some help! Thanks in advance for your assistance!

I'm looking for a top notch "thrower" for use around the farm. I need to be able to see what's "out there" (racoons, coyotes, neighbor's dog, alien spacecraft, etc. at about 75 yards). I'm currently using one of the "Million Candle Power" rechargable lights available at the big orange store, but get tired of constantly recharging it and would prefer to have something a little higher in quality (one of these Million candle power lights lasts about 4 months for me before they die) and smaller in size (a CR123 light would be perfect).

I've narrowed my search to either the Tiablo A9, or the Peak First Responder. Does anyone have experience with both lights that could give me an idea of which would hold up best to life on the farm? I'm looking for extreme durability and very good throw. Both of these lights offer the option for a reduced output, which would be great for me when I go inside (dark barn, cow shed, etc.).

Any guidance you can provide would be greatly appreciated!

P.S. By the way, buying both is not an option, I'm just a poor farmer:-(

robo21

Enlightened
I wouldn't consider a DX light "high quality," if that is a requirement. What is your price range? You mention Tiablo, the A9 with a smooth reflector is an excellent thrower. But there are a lot of choices out there. More info would be helpful.

KeyGrip

Flashlight Enthusiast
From the reviews of the Peak 1st responder that I've read, it seems to be more of a flooder than a thrower. Do a quick search, I know the reviews are here somewhere. I have never seen a direct comparison.

cmichael

Newly Enlightened
Newbie here, looking for some help! Thanks in advance for your assistance!