Self Defense Help !!

Chase2b

Newly Enlightened
Hi. I am a newbie to all and have been researching on which light to get for (outside) self defense. On doing the research, I was amazed about what a huge "hobby" this is for so many...in fact, the more I read, the more the bug is biting.
I currently own a SF G2 (upgrade on its way) and would like to get a powerful, but smaller, self defense light. It doesn't have to have the crenellated bezels.
I would prefer a light of 100L or greater and would like the size to be 4.5" or smaller with about a 1" dia. and a weight less than 4ozs. The G2 is just a bit larger to carry than I would like. I want the light to be able to light up a possible problem from a good distance.
I was looking at the Fenix p3d but was concerned in a defense situation, that trying to click this and turn that would take to much time.
I am asking for help since my head is spinning with all the choices.
The light would seldom be used for anything but self defense.
Thanks.

Last edited:

lightemup

Flashaholic*
:welcome:

Hmm my recommendation would be something along the lines of a Surefire L4.

Not as wide as the g2, 100 lumens, "wall of light" for indoors and not bad throw outdoors, rugged, reliable and as its a led no filament to burn out... Don't know what 4 ozs is, but the L4's pretty light to me.

You seem like you're trying to keep it simple so you don't need any functions etc. Push in tailcap: Light on Click on tailcap: Permanent on. It can be locked out as well so it doesn't go on in your pocket...

If it is for edc scalloped bezel is probably as good if not better than crenelated as some people have issues with the bezels wearing out pockets.

IMHO you don't want something as short say as the Surefire E1e because you still want sufficient length that you can get a good grip on it and be able to do strikes with it if need be.