Noob question, Fenix L2D Rebel vs Maglite 2d

tozwp

Newly Enlightened
I'm new to the LED light scene but have become very excited from what I've learned here in the past few days of surfing the forums. I ordered the above mentioned Fenix based on what I think I need for my primary hunting light. I've carried a 2d Maglite for years and decided it was time to upgrade to something smaller/lighter with better specs. Found this site when I started to research and its been a fantastic resource.

I really only use the light for getting to/from stands and some tracking. The Mag is sufficient for getting in and out but not great for tracking. I usually fire up the Coleman for that but I've occasionally forgotten to bring it along and have had to rely on the Maglite.

Here's my question: what are the specs on the Maglite 2D and how do they compare to the L2D Rebel? I've got the numbers for the Fenix but I can't find much for the standard Mag. I'm really curious to see how much better it will really be. I ordered the Fenix from the Fenix store last week but just found out its been back ordered (drat!). I was hoping to have both lights in my hand so that I could do a comparison myself but since I must wait, maybe someone here could excite me with some details. I'm like a kid waiting for Christmas day here.......

Steve L

Flashlight Enthusiast
Here' a link to a review of Mag 3D and 4D. This site has lots of useful information: http://www.flashlightreviews.com/reviews/maglite_3d.htm. If you need a light with a lot of throw look for lights with bigger reflectors(more of the light can be focused to a tighter beam for more throw), like a Tiablo A8 or A9, Dereelight DBS, or a Lumapower MRV.

Last edited:

Marduke

Flashaholic
Here are the lumen specs on the various forms of the D-size incandescent MagLites

lamps_dcell.jpg

https://www.candlepowerforums.com/threads/176109

As for the LED versions, I'm still looking for the lumen specs for those... :shrug:

tozwp

Newly Enlightened