Jetbeam        
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: LightSaver Miser: SF E-series multi level/strobe

  1. #1

    Default LightSaver Miser: SF E-series multi level/strobe

    Just found this today. Did a search and seems there are a couple of threads about it but no review yet.

    It's an aftermarket tailcap for the Surefire E-series (E1e, E2e, E2D) which adds 3 levels of
    brightness and 2 strobe modes.

    Click on the images to see larger pics.
    The package explains the function and instructions.





    Fitted on an E1e.


    L to R: 100%, 50%, 25%.
    Photos were all shot at 1/30 f8 WB Daylight. Sorry about the dust..

    Slow Strobe: approx. 22 flashes/min.
    Fast Strobe: approx. 84 flashes/min.

    Snap ring plyers were used to take the retaining ring out of the end.
    No Loc-tite like substance was found.


    As the package indicates, this tailcap works with incans only.
    I did try with a custom LED module but it did not work.


    The spring was too short on the unit I purchased, and needed to be stretched out with a
    screwdriver to reach the negative end of a Surefire brand CR123. Adding a thin washer also helped.

    HA finish looks thick.

    The tailcap does not have 'momentary on' capability.

    Besides this LS-564-E Miser, there is a larger LS-564-6P for the 6P.
    Also, there is the LS-565-E and LS-565-6P which does not have the multi level, but strobe only.

  2. #2

    Default Re: LightSaver Miser: SF E-series multi level/strobe

    Hmmm, not much interest here huh .. ?

    I was quite excited to find this item, though admit that something that works with
    LEDs would be even better.
    Last edited by nekomane; 10-14-2007 at 05:28 AM.

  3. #3

    Default Re: LightSaver Miser: SF E-series multi level/strobe

    Yeah I agree. If it worked with the E1L I would consider getting it.
    Semper Fi

  4. #4
    Flashaholic* cfromc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    882

    Default Re: LightSaver Miser: SF E-series multi level/strobe

    The 50% and 25% look very yellow in the pictures. Does the switch simply cut the current to the bulb down, producing a very under-driven bulb? I wonder how that affects bulb life.

  5. #5

    Default Re: LightSaver Miser: SF E-series multi level/strobe

    I have no idea how they achieve the multiple brightness.

    Will post more pics of the bulb taken at different exposures, and
    also of what can be seen of the circuit when I get home.

  6. #6
    Flashaholic* KeyGrip's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Back in Santa Cruz
    Posts
    2,536

    Default Re: LightSaver Miser: SF E-series multi level/strobe

    Thanks for the review. I've been looking into one, but didn't want to be the first penguin in the water. I would also like to know how it cuts the power to the lamp and how that affects lamp life?
    "Et lux in tenebris lucet"

  7. #7

    Default Re: LightSaver Miser: SF E-series multi level/strobe

    1/30 F4


    Against a slightly off white wall.


    Image of the circuit board. Kinda difficult to show without taking it apart.
    Maybe some of you experts can figure out if it's a PWM or whatever you call it.
    Please click on the thumbnail to see a larger image.

  8. #8
    *Flashaholic* kaichu dento's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    大和/Alyeska
    Posts
    6,052

    Default Re: LightSaver Miser: SF E-series multi level/strobe

    I can't believe there's not more interest in this mod! It's bigger than I wish it were but I still would like to get one and am now starting my search.
    Marduke - Solitaire...I've seen matches which are brighter AND have a longer runtime. 光陰矢の如し

  9. #9
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    774

    Default Re: LightSaver Miser: SF E-series multi level/strobe

    Never heard of this before now; I would certainly be interested in one of these if they can still be found!


  10. #10
    Flashaholic* bigchelis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Morgan Hill, CA
    Posts
    3,599

    Default Re: LightSaver Miser: SF E-series multi level/strobe

    This is a cool find. I think now we need a way to fit WA1185 inside a E1e bezel to put this to use as a soft-start. Of course we would need a UBH 9p size E-series body: which I have



    Does it work with LED's? I have a Direct Drive E1e fitted with an SST-50 by Milky comming soon that may need a lower and a low
    Surefire 6P with Malkoff M60 simple, bright, efficient.

  11. #11

    Default Re: LightSaver Miser: SF E-series multi level/strobe

    Sorry if I missed it, but why are you guys saying it doesn't work with LEDs?

    I've had this on my Solarforce Pro-1 to give it multiple levels of output.


    BTW, this is where I got mine:

    http://www.brigadeqm.com/cgi-bin/tam...2&M5.ctx=29932

  12. #12
    Flashaholic* Streak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    ex South Africa now SoCal
    Posts
    705

    Default Re: LightSaver Miser: SF E-series multi level/strobe

    It probably makes use of the IQ switch

    http://www.azoteq.co.za/index.php?page=iq_switch

    which ,most of their other products use.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •