?? surefire g2 led..waterproof how much??

Reelturner

Newly Enlightened
Hello,

I'm a newbie on this board as the majority of my time is spent on the saltwater fishing message forums.

I need to ask the ones who know the in/outs of flashlights about the Surefire g2 led. Here goes.

I drum fish at night at the Outer Banks of NC for red drum and most of the old salts that have been doing this kind of fishing use the 4 aa cell Pelican flashlights to shine up in the air at a 45 degree angle to check their lines when standing next to someone or fishing in a crowd. They then can see if their tangled with someone next to them and which way either over or under they have to go to untangle the lines making sure to keep the beam of light upward off of the water. If any of you aren't familar with drum fishing, lights beams swept across the surf will spook the drum and just about always turn the bite completely off and then leave them with an unpleasant attitude. I used last October a mini Maglite 2 AA cell to shine up and it just wasn't any help at all. I was told by a drum fisherman that the led wasn't any good either, but that was quite a while ago and since then Surefire has got the g2 led.

Yesterday I purchased the g2 led with lanyard, batteries and tried it out last night behind the house in the pitch dark and was satisfied with what I saw. Keep in mind that I have never had a Surefire either.

I wonder how waterproof the g2 led is as the Surefire's website lists it as "weather resistant." I don't plan on dunking it but surely it probably will be splashed occasionally. Dustin, the rep at Surefire said just make sure the O-rings are lubricated very well and tightened up. After checking the website out the only difference in the g2 led Nitrolan and the 6P led is the g2led has a lexan window, where the 6p has a glass Pyrex window. I read on Surefire's website that all of their flashlights rated or outdoor water sports has a Pyres window instead of the Lexan glass.