Good choice for Crime Scence Tech??

MTHall51

Newly Enlightened
I am trying to move into the field of Crime Lab work, although I may have to do a fair amount of crime scene tech or investigation too.

Anyone here in these fields, or know someone who is, who could recommend a good choice for this type of application?

MikeLip

Flashlight Enthusiast
Don't you watch CSI? They all use Surefires I think! :)

For forensics you will probably need a UV source of some kind, and hopefully that will be supplied. I would think a good multi-level light would be a good thing, and an LED would be desirable because of robustness and the constant color temperature - or at least more constant than incandescent. As a EMT I have found white LEDs to be less than ideal for color rendition when it comes to looking at damaged body parts and tissues (and that might just be my 50 year old eyes) and so use an incan penlight for that, but for scene investigation they might be just fine. They certainly work well for lighting up an accident scene. My Electrolumens TriStar Phaser gets a lot of work in that regard.

Gunner12

Flashaholic
Do you just need light or a specific kind of light(like a specific range of UV)?

Because if you just need light, you have lots of choices.

TMedina

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'd make a basic recommendation or two and then see what the standard is for the lab you work in.

That will give you an idea of the demands your job makes and the minimum level of gear deemed necessary - don't kid yourself, any government lab rarely ever goes beyond "minimum required."

Once you know the minimum standard, then decide if you want to go above and beyond and start looking at lights to fit those needs.

You may want to look at Arc's UV light as an emergency tool as well as any well-reviewed and reliable light in your budget. That's when you start making the hard choices we all do - costs to run, availability of batteries, performance, etc. ;D

-Medina

MikeSalt