Your True Stories

Lightguy27

Enlightened
Hello everyone!!
Im a big fan of all the crazy true stories on Surefire's website and was wondering if any of of you have some cool stories to share. Oh, I also wanted to say that I am Surefire's true stories contest winner for september!! I dont think the story is on their website yet but it should be soon!!

-Evan :grin2:

MikeLip

Flashlight Enthusiast
It's not a Surefire story, but...

I am an EMT/Firefighter (part time). I always carry LOTS of light and a trauma kit in my car. Normally though I am an electronic engineer, and I start work at 5:30AM to avoid traffic.

Anyway, I am on my way in to work one morning. My drive is all interstate. I just get off one and onto another, about 30 miles one way. I can do it in a half-hour. I am taking the ramp from Rt44 on to Rt90 - the ramp comes down a hill to intercept the freeway. As I'm gathering speed to merge, there is suddenly right in front of me one of those big trucks that haul roofing - the kind with a crane on it's back. It's on its' side, sliding across the grass median between the ramp the the freeway, and across the pavement about 100' in front of my car. I slam the brakes on.

Beyond that is a semi going off the right hand side of the road and down into a little valley. The semi is on fire bigtime.

I get the car stopped. It's pitch dark except for the firelight. The Electrolumens Tristar Phaser takes care of that nicely. It sits on the floor next to the driver's seat, and it has a fresh load of batteries. It will need them.

I get out after calling 911. The operator wants to chat, but there is a woman on the road in front of me, ejected from the roofing truck. Her husband is walking around dazed, I get him settled. Look her over and decide she'll live, although she has a major case of road rash. I cover them both with survival blankets (there are always a dozen of those in the car too) and clean up what I can see.