Any LED replacement for 4.8V krypton bulb?

ruriimasu

Enlightened
I have 2 Eveready big flashlights that use 4.8v krypton bulbs. Ever since LED flashlights came into my life, i stopped using them. 1 of which is still in clam-shell packaging. It is kind of a waste to leave them lying around. So I was wondering if I can change the bulbs to LED? Anyone knows where I can order LEDs to replace the krypton bulbs? It uses 4 AA batteries. Thanks :D

The bulb looks like this http://www.choiceful.com/prod_image/57734_m.jpg

Valolammas

Enlightened
You could try the Maglite 4-cell LED-replacement, but it is thicker than a standard PR-base bulb, so it may or may not fit. If you don't want to risk it, this one looks like it should fit, but I've heard it's not very bright. Or you could try one of these. I'm sure there are others as well if you look around.

Windscale

Enlightened
Is the original light designed for AA rechargeables only? Since rechargeable AAs are 1.2v each. I am no expert in electrical currents. I do suggest you go to the Batteries forum and ask 'SilverFox' Tom to make sure what replacement you ought to buy. He is the expert.

copperfox

Enlightened
I have a rayovac 2D light with an incan bulb of the same type. I purchased a Maglite LED replacement for 2D and put it in the light. I had to use needlenose pliers to expand the spring that the bulb sits inside because the led had a fatter base than the previous bulb. It ended up working nicely, now I have better runtime and more light. This may be something you can try, just buy the 4D version because you have a 4 cell light. You could even buy the 3D LED if you use rechargeable 1.2v AAs (4x1.2=4.8 volts, the 3D can handle 4.5v easily, and probably 4.8 (don't take my word for it though))

IMHO, the niteize led bulb is VERY dim. I first bought it for my 4D mag and it was dim in that. When I tried it in the 2D rayovac it was next to worthless. I don't suggest buying it.

Marduke

Flashaholic