ANYBODY LIKE THE INOVA T 4

tekguy

Newly Enlightened
I AM CONTEMPLATING BUYING ONE OF TWO LIGHTS. THE NEW INOVA T 4 OR THE SF L7. I LIKE THE ADVERTISED 125 LUMEN RATING ON THE T 4 BUT AM SKEPTICAL OF THE REALITY. I LIKE THE Lion BATTERY OF THE T 4 OVER THE NI CAD IN THE L 7 ANY ADVISE WOULD BE HELPFUL THANKS

PhantomPhoton

Flashlight Enthusiast
First piece of advice,
Find the caps lock and use it. :p

The T4 125 Lumens is not what you're actually going to get out the front of the light. Both the T4 and L7 use "old" LEDs. There are brighter and more efficient lights out there now. I'd recommend reading some more here on CPF before making a purchase.
Both are decent lights, well respected companies, good quality. But it is likely you can find better. Do you have anything specific you want to use the light for?

tekguy

Newly Enlightened
im a construction inspector and do alot of roadside inspections an night for the dot. i need about 200 feet of throw with alot of sidespill for closeup work. mid sized and rechargable is a must, atleast 2 hours of run time . what do you reccomend

Monocrom

Flashaholic
Go for the T4.

Surefire's lumen ratings are closer to reality, since they are measured out the front; instead of at the emitter. Pelican also measures out the front. Pretty much every other company, including Inova; measures at the emitter. No way is the T4 going to be 125 lumens. (One thing to keep in mind is that the older version of the T3 was rated at 80 lumens, and gave about 45 out the front).

Still, a T4 is worth the asking price. I own an older version with the TIROS in place. It works well! But I'd recommend getting a newer version (2007) T4 with a reflector, instead. Not a huge improvement, except for the much better side-spill vs. the TIROS version. (Newer T4s have a black bezel ring).