I'm in the SureFire True Stories page :)

MacTech

Enlightened
Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha, Earth, USA, New England
On a whim, a few months ago, I sent SureFire my "True Story", I figued it'd be boring and unworthy of inclusion compared to all the life-and-death stories, but was surprised to see it there;

"iFlashlight?
This story doesn't contain any life-threatening situations or hidden danger, thankfully. I'm an Apple-authorized repair technician, and I use my SureFires, an E1L Outdoorsman and an A2 Aviator® daily.

The most novel use I've found for my Aviator is to trans-illuminate dark LCD displays to check for backlighting problems. When an LCD-based Mac has backlighting problems, the screen may look completely black, but there's actually an image on the display; it's just not visible, due to the malfunctioning backlighting tubes. By firing up the incandescent bulb of my Aviator and holding it against the front of the display, I can bounce the light off the back of the reflector panel and make out a dim but visible screen image. If there's a visible image, then it's a backlighting problem, typically an easy fix. If the screen remains dark, it's a bad screen. Only SureFire incandescents seem to have the necessary muscle to trans-illuminate LCD screens. And, for whatever reason, LED light is absorbed more readily by the LCD screen, so they don't work for the task.

My SureFires make my job as an Apple repair tech much easier, and many of my customers have remarked on how bright my "little lights" are and asked where they can get one of their own. I always give them a short and sweet answer: "Surefire.com, that's where."

Russ W.
York, ME"

Last edited:

KeyGrip

Flashlight Enthusiast
Glad to hear you made it. That true stories page was the only reason I wish I'd get attacked by an elk or mountain lion, but it's good to know that you get recognition for using your lights day-in day-out as intended. So what are you going to do with the gift certificate?

Fallingwater