A UI suggestion for Fenix, Olight, etc.

sb_pete

Newly Enlightened
Ok so I know that some people don't like sos or strobe. Personally I use strobe all the time - not to ward off all the dangerous attackers here in sunny santa barbara, but to get people's attention in cars (I work as a valet and a chauffeur). That being said, the very presence of these things seems to annoy some people like red sheets do angry bulls. Another thing that seems to annoy some is too many output levels. Here is a suggestion combining the current UIs from the P2D and the T10 to provide lots of functionality while making it very difficult to accidentally activate:

Position 1:
Twist head all the way tight: lock in current mode. Tapping the tailswitch will provide momentary on or off type function depending on clicky type, but nothing else.

Position 2:
quarter twist off: programable mode - light output automatically steps down (or up) to a preferred output setting like in the P2D (say 20% default, but hold down tailswitch for 5+ seconds for new setting). By tapping the tailswitch you switch between solid, strobe, and signal modes (like in a t10).

Position 3:
half twist off - by twisting back on from here back to quarter (p2) or all the way (p1) changes output (like in a t10). If you don't go to p3, then p1 and p2 stay the same, by twisting all the way to p3 then back to p2 you change the output, further twisting to p1 locks it in

Basically, if you don't use strobe or sos, dont tap the tailswitch
in p2. The light should have a memory so if you only want low/hi, then simply lock p1 in at high output and then twist the head between p1 and p2 for low/hi.

If you want more light outputs, you can find them by twisting between p2 and p3 and then lock it in by using p1 or leave it in p2 for quick access to strobe if you use it.