Internet Gurus: Pls. Answer an E-mail Question

AFAustin

Flashlight Enthusiast
There are so many CPFers who are computer/internet experts that I get better and faster advice on those type of issues here than on any traditional computer forums. So, please help me understand this one.

My office and my home are in completely different locations, and have completely different computer/internet set-ups. My home runs off of Roadrunner cable and my office off of AT&T/Yahoo DSL. Both have wireless networks. Each has a separate e-mail address, via the respective ISPs.

My laptop is set up mainly for home use, with Vista/Windows Mail for e-mail, going through Roadrunner. When I take it to work, and it's running off our AT&T/Yahoo DSL wireless network, and I open Windows Mail, I receive e-mail addressed to my Roadrunner e-mail address!? I can't send e-mail through the RR acct., but I do receive it.

I confess I am not technically proficient by any means, but I just don't understand this. I had assumed the only way to check my home e-mail from work was through Roadrunner's "web mail" site, but not receive it directly.

Could some kind soul please explain this to me?

Thanks in advance.

greenLED

Flashaholic
My laptop is set up mainly for home use, with Vista/Windows Mail for e-mail, going through Roadrunner. When I take it to work, and it's running off our AT&T/Yahoo DSL wireless network, and I open Windows Mail, I receive e-mail addressed to my Roadrunner e-mail address!? I can't send e-mail through the RR acct., but I do receive it.

I confess I am not technically proficient by any means, but I just don't understand this. I had assumed the only way to check my home e-mail from work was through Roadrunner's "web mail" site, but not receive it directly.