NEED help taking photos

Flashanator

Flashlight Enthusiast
Plz help, Need advice on taking beamshots... :confused:

Im a newbie, so All my photos come out blurry, & they don't show what the eye sees at all. In my photos, the lights looks like there 10x duller then with the visable eye. Do you have to have a camera that has certain special features?

My digital camera is a kodak Z650. I tried the night time setting with flash & without, but it still looks pretty bad. I have a new light & I'm dying to take beamshots.

Plz send help. :)

Regards.

Last edited:

quokked

Enlightened
I've tried hard to get good beamshots as well for my lights with varying degrees of sucess
Here a couple of tips to get this thread started!

1. Use a tripod!, at night most compact cameras cannot take a still picture due the long exposure times required.

2. Set the longest possible exposure your camera can do

3. Be patient and learn the settings of your camera, manual sometimes looks scary but it gives u more control

Flashanator

Flashlight Enthusiast
One problem I find is by just pressing the button to take the photo, it casuses camera shake. This can cause the photo to look worse. I really want a remote shutter button, but with my camera there most likely won't be one.

still trying to figger out the exposure time. :(

Flashanator

Flashlight Enthusiast
Here is a 130watt halogen light with a very large beam. But with my camera the pic looks like a huge, huge Maxabeam light. Too white & extremely bright.

:thinking:

Zenster

Enlightened
Here is a 130watt halogen light with a very large beam. But with my camera the pic looks like a huge, huge Maxabeam light. Too white & extremely bright.

:thinking:

Things to know:

1. Use a tripod!! Not just a tripod, but a GOOD tripod. If you are gentle when you "squeeze" the shutter button (and not "push" it), you should be able to take nicely sharp pics.