Novatac problem

bltkmt

Enlightened
Admitted flashaholic newbie here. I have an 85T and took out the battery for the first time last night to lube the threads with Nanolube. When I put the tailcap back on, the light would not come on...clicky no worky. I have tried a few other (new) batteries, but nothing. Help?

luminata

Enlightened
Sounds like

1)one of the 2 retaining rings inside have loosened. There is one in the tailcap and one in the head section . If you have only removed the tailcap it is probably that one. You need some snap ring pliers ,needle nose pliers or the like to tighten it down. There are small notches on the ring for this purpose just be careful of the internal threads.
2)did you remember to put the big spring which goes around the battery back in?
3)maybe cleaning contacts will help
4)do a reset and battery detect

cfromc

Enlightened
Check the owner's manual, towards the end (I think) and there will be a procedure to "reset" that you can do. I have the 120P so the manual may be a little different than yours so I don't know what page it will be on in your manual, or even if the procedure is the same.

On my 120P the light is sensitive to how hard the cap is tightened down. If it is not tight, the light won't work or works irratically.

BBL

Enlightened
Maybe its a simple problem: Are you sure all treaded connections are tight?

bltkmt

Enlightened
I have tried it all...cleaning the silver contacts in case lube was fouling the connection...tightening...etc. Nothing works. I am going to contact their support.

qadsan

Newly Enlightened
At least the light itself carries a lifetime warranty in the event nothing else works. Hopefully you can get it going without the need to send it back.

scottaw

Enlightened
I just got mine today...and it won't work with the clip on. Works fine without it. I cranked that sucker down as hard as i could, thinking it was a bit backed off b/c of the clip...nada. So im clipless, but still having fun playing with it.