R2 bin worth the wait?

Glance2

Newly Enlightened
It looks like the Cree Xlamp XR-E Q5s are becoming more prevalent in flashlights. Is it worth the wait for the R2 bin?

WadeF

Flashlight Enthusiast
R2 bins are already out there, but there may not be a large enough quantity of them to make it into full scale production models. I have a R2 bin CREE on the way that I will try to mod one of my lights with.

techwg

Flashlight Enthusiast
i think i will pass... i will wait for R4 because its silly to upgrade for slight gains. An upgrade should feel like your getting more. More something, wether runtime, or lumens or less heat, it should feel like an upgrade that you can say "wow this is way better than my X" R2 i dont believe will do much for me.

Glance2

Newly Enlightened
The increase in Min Flux (lm) and Min Efficacy (LPW) looks like between a 6 to 7 percent bump from Q5 to R2. I'm no expert, but on paper this does not look very much.

Would we expect to see the difference in real world conditions?

Glance2

Newly Enlightened
I have a R2 bin CREE on the way that I will try to mod one of my lights with.

I am curious, which light will you try the R2 bin with? Would it be safe to assume it will be something less efficient or fewer lumens than a P4 or older? I am a novice with mods; what would the mod entail?

WadeF

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm going to put it in a Dereelight 3-stage digital module. I will have a Q5 WC 3-stage module to compare it to. It's more just for curiosity, rather than trying to get a lot more light. With the DBS and it's large reflector that focuses the light into a tight beam, a small gain in output will be more apparent than it would be with a light that has a more floody output. Meaning, on a LUX meter, I may see a gain of 2,000LUX, or more. However, if I go from 26,000LUX to 28,000LUX (about 6-7% gain), it probably would be hard to notice in real world use.

However, I can say "Yeah, the R2 is indeed a bit brighter."