Best single emiter/board/reflector combo

mrk442

Newly Enlightened
Howdy,

I am new to the forum and am looking to build myself a ultra bright thrower run time is a non issue and i plan to fabricate the body around my chosen hardware. the thing is truth fully i don't know much about the current state of LED's I am an EE/CE Student so have a pretty good background for electronic components.

What emitter running at what amperes would be best if i am looking for extreme brightens with a runtime not really being a concern? I will work the batteries around the requirements of the emitter/board so that will not be an issue and since i am building the housing from scratch...

Thanks!
Matt:twothumbs

Last edited:

jch79

**Do Not Feed The Vegan**,
:welcome: Matt,

I'd go a Cree Q4/Q5 binned LED, a McR-27L reflector (the Cree XR version), and a SOB 1000mA board - all available from the Sandwich Shoppe. (Only Q4 binned Cree's, but your eye wouldn't be able to tell the difference between the two).

There are other throwy reflectors out there, especially some that FiveMega has made to fit his Maglite creations - I'm not sure on their availability. I think the McR-27L is an amazing reflector!

Also available for boards would be Georges80's MaxFlex board, which I think can do 1200mA (available from George's website) Driving harder than that might not be good for a single LED? :thinking:

If this is meant to be a "check out the throw on a LED flashlight out" kinda light, you might want to look into an aspheric Maglite mod - a few people have done these, including RCatR, cmacclel, and cryhavok.. amongst others. Of course, that doesn't have a reflector, which violates one of your requests in the subject. But of all my lights, that one has the most "wow" factor for most people... they like the throw! My personal preference differs greatly, but they're fun! :)