Surefire Noise & Tint

hcd615

Enlightened
I am a newbie so sorry if this has been covered but I couldnt find it in any searches and it may be dumb, but:

I have heard so much about the L1 that I got the newest L1 today. Is it normal to hear I guess the spring in the tailcap when you turn it from off - low - high. I guess it is the spring in the tailcap compressing? I have read about a rattle, mine doesnt do that, just the spring noise. Sorry if this is an obvious question.

Last edited:

DaFABRICATA

Flashlight Enthusiast
Re: Surefire noise

Thats what a flashlight fart sound like!

I don't have a New L1 so I don't really know

Sgt. LED

Flashaholic

Call SF and describe it in detail, if it's not normal they will send you out a new tailcap right away. Won't have to send in the old one either most likley.

Tempest UK

Flashlight Enthusiast

I have noticed a "buzzing" noise in some of my lights, mostly my A2, which I have been told is due to the regulation. Haven't noticed it in my L1, but it could be the same thing.

Regards,
Tempest

scottaw

Enlightened

My Cree L1 is pretty quiet. But, my other L1 sometimes sounds like maybe the spring is scraping against the battery. No scratching or damage to the back of the battery though.

Jay R

Flashlight Enthusiast

Stick a tiny bit of grease on the bottom of the cell. The spring will slip smoothly when you turn the body and you won't hear it.

greenLED

Flashaholic

It's normal. From what you're describing, it's the spring rubbing against the battery as you twist the tailcap. If it really bugs you, take a piece of sandpaper and smooth out the end of the spring (you can also use a fine metal file).

What Tempest refers to is an electronic component (inductor?) vibrating and generating the humming noise. That's also normal, and depends on the specific light and a person's hearing ability.

hcd615

Enlightened