ROP (iknow it's asked alot)

a4d

Enlightened
Hey alright i'm pretty much set i'm probably going to go buy the maglite tomorrow. What i want to know is wich mag is the best for the ROP? Also trying to keep as cost effective as posible.

Runtime is not a main concern this will be used in the woods for the kinda long distance attacks:D. It wont be getting out to much while i'm at school only when i go home for the holidays and such and then after i grad.

Also i am a complete NEWB!! to ROP so try and help me out with the terms i'd like to learn as much as i can. Thanks..

DonShock

Flashlight Enthusiast
The normal ROP configuration is 6AA in special battery holders in a Mag2D. There are also combinations such as two 18650 li-ions in a Mag2C, which requires a tailcap spacer, and six Sub-C cells in a Mag4D. But if size is no object and runtime is your main concern, you can always go full size with six rechargable D cells in a Mag6D. If you get the largest capacity cells available (12,000 mAH) that should give you about 3 hours of runtime with the 4A current draw of the ROP high output bulb.

a4d

Enlightened
no i'm not worried about the runtime thats not a big deal. Just the brightest possible combo i can get for $40 or cheaper

DonShock

Flashlight Enthusiast
$40 wil be tough to do. Even if you have the Mag host already, you still need the metal reflector ($20-30), glass lens ($5-10), bulbs ($8-9), battery holder ($6-40), and batteries ($20-60). The exact cost can vary a lot depending on which configuration you choose and what quality of components you use.

a4d

Enlightened
Well if i can't do the ROP right now are there any other lights that might come stock or even needing upgrading that will be real bright to light up the woods. We usually hang out in a big 30 acre sand pit in the woods, so something that would do good out there.

DonShock

Flashlight Enthusiast