I am in LOVE!! (L1 Cree)

lights

Newly Enlightened
I am aware of the many threads concerning the new Surefire L1, but I thought I could do a sort of review for those who may use lights the way I do (I use them daily for extended periods of time).

I install high end PA systems, in theaters, auditoriums, churches, etc. I also work in the live sound industry. I often need a bright light that will throw to look up into the steel structure of a building to investigate rigging options and to locate conduit or junction boxes. I also need a light for close range use when wiring and troubleshooting large racks of audio equipment. In the past few years, I have used a G2, M6 LED 2390, L2P, L1P, Minimad LED, and more recently, a P3D. The P3D is a great light and has performed well. However, several issues made search for another light. 1, the P3D is overly complicated to use. I do not like the idea of handing someone a flashlight and having to explain how it works... 2, the P3D started having reliability issues. Unless you clean teh threads and contacts quite frequently, it tends to flicker, switch modes, not turn on, or otherwise not work as expected.

So, i began to look for another light. Due to the fact that i use my lights daily, and for work, i can justify spending 100+ on a light. (I have a hard time seeign how people spend that much on a light just for 'fun'.)