Surefire U2 battery sleeve

hcd615

Enlightened
Hi, as I said in another post I purchased 2 SF U2's. I am going to keep the best whitest LED and take the other one and do a Milky mod. My question is I believe both (for sure one) seller told me that they are a newer model and dont have a sleeve in the battery tube. Is there a way to look into there and tell if it has one? What will I see or not see? I always use SF123A batteries, but if I do the mod and I have a sleeve I guess I should get 18650 batteries. Is that a good idea? I am new to LED's, rechargeable batteries and mods. Sorry if this is a stupid and obvious sleeve and battery question.

ja10

Enlightened
If you look inside and see a black liner, then it has the sleeve. This sleeve can be removed without a whole lot of trouble. There are some old U2's that fit 18650s and don't have the sleeve, but they didn't make the body that way for very long. If you don't see the sleeve, you probably have the newest body.

I use 18650s in my U2 and like the added capacity, but you can use a 17670 in the newer body and still get the benefits of using rechargables, just with less capacity.

hcd615

Enlightened
So the difference in the 2 battery 18650 & 17670 types are just capacity in runtime? Where do you buy them? What brand? I guess the charger has 2 slots so you charge both cells and use one and then charge the single cell or does the charger have to charge both cells together (I forgot what that is called)?

Daniel_sk

Flashlight Enthusiast
I just imagined a SF U2 running with one 18650 and with a Cree Q5 or Rebel 100 LED... :faint: That would be THE PERFECT light for me.
I could get an SF U2 with an older body on B/S/T forum, but I guess the emitter swap isn't that easy as on different flashlights and the reflector is optimized for Luxeon LED...

I wish SF would bring us a new SF U2 model with a tube that would accept 18650 batteries..

hcd615

Enlightened