If you could choose only one...

pheonix

Newly Enlightened
If you could have only one flashlight to serve all purposes (EDC, blackouts, camping, emergencies)(LED incandescent or whatever)What would you choose. Choice must be in your budget and easily available to the average person. I am new to this and do not have a specific answer yet, but I will think about it and get back with you. Possibly my E2e-HA with the addition of the KL1.

Sigman

* The Arctic Moderator *
One and only one for all those purposes...I would have to go with one of the <font color="blue">"EternaLights"</font> due to their extended runtimes (that I don't think can be matched by anyone)! I'd also load it (if you didn't get one of the models that come "preloaded") with lithiums for the 10 year shelf life as well as cold weather operation. Alot of folks aren't used to the "pager" style design, but one gets used to it.

There are certainly many different choices that specifically fit the individual situations you have mentioned above, but you asked for one that does all...(and I've seen them on eBay for $25 including free shipping - Randy at Darkgear.com is great to deal with also!

monanza

Flashlight Enthusiast
Primary all-purpose EDC: Surefire A2
Primary Backup: Arc LSH-P
Secondary EDC: Surefire E2e + E1e/KL1
Secondary Backup: Surefire L1
Tertiary EDC: EternaLight EliteMAX
Tertiary Backup: E2e + LSH-P

I have not received my A2's yet so I still have to confirm my choice for primary all-purpose EDC. The EliteMAX is also just around the corner but sounds good because of its flashing beacon setting.

Cheers.

Stingray

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'd probably go with the A2 also, even though I haven't owned one yet. Alternatively, one of the other dual function LED/incandescent lights like Streamlight or Nuwai.

battman

Newly Enlightened
Only 1? That's like telling a parent to pick only 1 of their kids (i think...i dont have kids myself)