Need Fenix P2D Q5 like flashlight, but...

neeande

Newly Enlightened
Hi All,
I am looking for a EDC flashlight and was set on a Fenix P2D Q5 but was told by the Fenix store that I shouldn't use rechargable batteries.

Is there a similar flashlight to the P2D Q5 that anyone knows of that will take a rechargeable battery?

I would like these features:

180 lumens or more on high output.
8 to 15 lumens on low so it can last in an emergency.
A setting somewhere in between (30 to 60 lumen, maybe?)
Small so I would actually carry it, 3 inches or so.

Also, is there an easy way to translate lumens to lux, so I can get an idea of what all you knowledgeable people are talking about? I am fairly new to this stuff.

Thanks for any help!

mikehill

Enlightened
How about the P2 and L1 combo kit ? That way you get the best of both worlds :thumbsup:

cal..45

Enlightened
Hi All,
I am looking for a EDC flashlight and was set on a Fenix P2D Q5 but was told by the Fenix store that I shouldn't use rechargable batteries.

the P2D can be driven with CR123 rechargeables, its just a matter of which you will use. when I put my ultra fire rechargeables in the lamp, it won't go to any low mode for the first ten minutes or so because the tension is too high.

however I have also other Cr123 rechargeables which will do the trick. I just can recommend to buy ONLY 3 volt rechargeables. in the end ALL CR123 cells will work but with some of them you lose the low modes.

regards, holger

neeande

Newly Enlightened
Thanks for your replies!

I am unfamiliar with CR123 rechargeable batteries. Did I understand correctly that a 3 volt rechargeable battery will work in all modes on a P2D Q5? Will it harm the flashlight in any way? I am wondering why Fenix said I couldn't use them in the P2D but could in the P3D (which is too big for me for EDC).

So my next questions are: