Car recommendation?

gnef

Enlightened
I know this isn't the best forum to ask for recommendations, but I think some of you have good ideas as to what I may be interested in, so I will pose this question here as well as other auto-specific forums.

I currently drive a 2004 Subaru Impreza WRX STi, and honestly, I love driving it. It now has a bit over 108 thousand miles on it.

I am a high school teacher, and am quite certain that I need to let go of the car now. I've been thinking of the practicality of the gas and insurance, as well as environmental factors (I only get 20mpg on premium fuel).

So what would be some of your recommendations? Let me help by listing some things I would like in a car, and some things I'm thinking of.

Safe. the STi is actually extremely safe, and something I like about it.
Not easy to break in or steal.
reasonable insurance costs with comprehensive coverage
decent gas mileage on 'regular' gas
practical for carrying things (people, groceries, etc.)
somewhat recent model (within 5 model years hopefully)

not as important but what i would prefer:
manual transmission
decent power for acceleration (would prefer something that didn't take 13 seconds to get up to 60mph, but i'm not expecting STi quickness)
rear wheel drive or all wheel drive
easy for me to work on for repairs and maintenance

what i've been considering:
Civic
Accord
mazda 3

which is a bit limited so far, and doesn't really fit in with what i've been trying to accomplish. I know I may be asking too much with my preferences, but do you have any ideas?

edit - good suggestions for details. price range, i would say maybe around 10-12k used.

Last edited:

Aaron1100us

Enlightened
What is your price range?

This is a good one for safety, speed, fuel economy, all wheel drive, 6 speed manual and 4 doors with plenty of room.

MazdaSpeed 6.