Nearly fried my P3D Q5.

Monocrom

Flashaholic
Got to work early yesterday, so decided to get some paperwork out of the way. I work as a security guard from 4pm - Midnight and patrol in an SUV. I use my P3D Q5 as my main work light. I usually clip the P3D's holster, using the plastic ring, onto a metal key-chain clip that is attached to my belt. The light hangs off of my belt, near the front of my pants.

After finishing up the paperwork, I drove to the Guard house (more like a shack) and started to climb out of the SUV. I noticed the P3D was on. Not a big deal, I figured. Happened once before. (Yes, despite the use of a reverse-clickie that can tailstand; it's possible to accidentally turn on a P3D). Got a bit of a surprise when I went to turn it off....

The entire light was hot as Hell! I was juggling it cause I couldn't hold onto it. The only part of the light that wasn't burning my hands was literally the rubber clickie!

I got it turned off, and then realized that I had been in the SUV for at least 45 minutes! :eek:

And that's at least as long as the light was on.... cause I didn't move from the Driver's seat the whole time. I soon figured out what had happened.... As I sat down, the P3D's holster folded straight up. Then, when I must have leaned forward in the seat, the bottom of the metal clip must have made contact with the clickie. I guess I leaned forward hard enough for the light to turn on. Funny thing is, the holster did a great job of not burning, or transmitting the heat through my thin dress pants.

Best part? Yeah, I had the light on Turbo mode.... for at least 45 minutes. :shakehead

Good news? I didn't fry the LED. And Turbo mode is just as bright as before. All the other modes work normally too. Still, I have a feeling I did some damage to the poor little LED. :eek: