What to do with a thief?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Erasmus

Flashlight Enthusiast
I am a student and the RA (resident's administrator) in a dormitory of 40 students. Since some months we have problems in 2 kitchens, both on the same floor. Each week people come to me to tell me some of their food is stolen. I have made a list of everything that's stolen, looks like someone of us is living for free. I tried to find who's the thief very discreetly, to not disturb the good family-like atmosphere we have with most students living here. I got him and tomorrow morning I'm going to confront him with the watertight proofs I have. Now I want to know your ideas about what to do with him. Most of the victims think I should terminate his contract immediately, but somehow it feels uncomfortable to me and the landlord does not agree either I guess. He's only a 19-year old kid. In my opinion it is better to not tell everyone who the thief is, and make him pay a contribution to the cultural budget (used to give parties and organize trips) about equal to the value of all the stolen food. What do you think about it? Should his contract be terminated? Should everyone know? How to 'punish' him?

Thanks a lot for your help :)

Erasmus

Flashlight Enthusiast