P1D outshines a P3D ?

Grateful Ned

Newly Enlightened
Hi folks

I'm still new to these higher performance lights but I was surprised yesterday when I received my P3D Q5 from FenixStore. I've had a P1D Q5 for a couple months now and have been impressed by the output from this little firehouse. After reading forums like this I was expecting even greater things from a P3D. But head to head it seems the output of these two on high (turbo) is about the same, with even a slight edge to the P1D.... :shrug:

On arrival the P3D was not terribly well prepared - absolutely zero lubrication on the threads (awful grinding getting the caps off the first time, even with great care). But I lubed it up nicely, cleaned the contacts (Deoxit) and popped in fresh CR123s.

No beamshots at the moment, but the spot of the P3D is similar to the P1D, and the spill a tiny bit less bright. I haven't used them outdoors yet, so perhaps the P3D throws better, etc.

I know the runtimes on the P3D will be better, and I really like the clicky - very responsive but not super 'touchy' like the JetBeam switch. But I was expecting more from the P3D beam.

Both lights were tested with new Energizer lithium CR123s. (I plan to use my Tenergy 900 mAh RCR123s most of the time). And both lights do indicate 'Premium Q5' on the bezel.

So should I:
a) be really happy that the P1D Q5 is such an amazing light in a small package (great EDC size for me as I have to dress for business, etc), and understand that the main advantage of the P3D will be runtime for hikes and similar applications?
or
b) Consider RMA'ing the P3D Q5 (if other folks that have both lights can tell me there should be a noticeable difference?)

Thanks for your input and Happy New Year !!

Last edited:

joema

Flashlight Enthusiast
...should I:...Consider RMA'ing the P3D..
Due to the eye's logarithmic sensitivity, it is VERY difficult to visually compare brightness with any accuracy.