New guy, need advice...

Xak

Enlightened
I've become addicted to LED lights. Got an Inova T3, Premierlight PL-7, an "Ever..."something or other LED upgrade for my 6D Maglight, and a couple el-cheapo AA LED lights for around the house first thing you can grab cuz the power went out-type lights. (breathe)

Anyhow. I'm looking for a new light similar in size as my Inova T3, with a convenient belt holster/clip that has a huge, wide, smooth flood. The T3 is a great light, but the beam is too narrow for what I need. I'm thinking something with those 5mm clustered LEDs might fit the bill better.

I'm a paramedic and I'm looking for a light to fill what ever area of a room I point it at so I can look for things like medicine bottles, weapons, threats to my or my patient(s) safety, be able to estimate blood loss, and illuminate the entire patient when working a cardiac arrest when there is no other light source available.

When using the T3 it's like I can illuminate only one thing at a time at close distance. I shine, or have someone else hold the light, and shine it on the arm where I'm starting an IV line and the guy providing respirations for the patient loses light and vise versa. I want to be able to walk up to a car wreck (at night) and identify how many occupants are in each vehicle, estimate the type of damage to each vehicle without having to keep moving my flashlight from side to side to create a mental "scan" of what I just saw.

Sure I'm blowing it out of proportion a bit, we always get the job done, crappy light or not, but having a different light would make things a bit easier. How often is someone who is really sick happen to have no power, or for one reason or an other no light ONLY in the room they are in? You would be surprised. It's like Murphy's Law. BTW, the fat patients that need to be carried out are always on the top floor w/o an elevator as well.