Different led color advantages

SilentK

Enlightened
i plan on buying a surefire a2 aviator sometime soon and am wondering about the advantages and disadvantages to led colors so i dont pick a bad led color for what i will be using this light for. can someone tell me one of the most common led colors for this light. and could someone recommend a color for me.{i will be using it for backpacking, outdoor illumination, and a bit of military type tasks. i also need to preserve my adapted night vision.} please excuse me if this has been posted before and i should not have posted it again, but please give me some space seeing as i am very new to CPF. i am looking forward to being a part of CPF and the art of flashlights.:cool: also about the A2, when you activate the main incandescent light do the leds come on at the same time. and when you twist the tail cap for constant on can you chose between incandescent and leds?

Last edited:

Hitthespot

Flashlight Enthusiast
For Night adapted vision Red is very good. I know many astronomers use Red for this very reason. (as long as it is not too bright ) You can read star maps and still keep your night adapted vision for looking through your binoculars or telescope. The rest of your quesions I cannot answer since I have never considered the A2 a light for any of my applications. It is a well regarded light though.

Bill

cv3po

Banned
Take a look at this page:
http://www.pentagonlight.com/products.cfm?id=1&fig=12&search=starled
They mention what each color is best for.