Modding a Dorcy 3D

Walt175

Enlightened
I modded one of these with a Seoul SSC P4 and a thin aluminium spacer. It had slightly better performance then a Mag with a Malkoff drop in. It is quite possibly my best throwing LED light, and the one I grab for any "bump in the night" situations.

TecNine

Newly Enlightened
Funny, I'm planning the same thing (Dorcy 3D mod). I just emailed Will from the thread you quoted;) I love the heft/feel of my Dorcy, but I'd like to modernize it.

My guess after all my research is that you can use the existing resistor (1.3?) in the Dorcy and drop a CREE Q5 board from dealextreme (~$9 shipped) into it..if I read that post right. Will mentions needing a .030 spacer to make it work well with the Docry reflector. Not quite sure where that spacer goes (I'm a newb), but I asked Will. I'll post here when he replies to my PM. This will be my first mod, so I'm hoping for something simple.

take care & good luck,
Tec

fishx65

Enlightened
I did both of mine about six months ago. I used Seoul u-bins from DX. I did not need a spacer in them and did not change any of the electronics. By far, my longest throwing lights! Also, the spill becomes much brighter. I've been running mine on 4AA alkalines for extended periods without any problems at all. 4AAs make the Seoul modded Dorcy "Silly Bright" and much lighter! Very easy mod!

I did have to shorten the spring to run 4 Cs and AAs.

tippy

Newly Enlightened
TecNine:
I'm curious to hear what Will has to say about the spacer so thanks for posting back to this thread. The link you have to DX is the Seoul I intended to use but am open to any other suggestions including a Cree. I assumed from research the Seoul would provide a better beam?

Walt175:
Can you elaborate on what you used for a spacer and where you actually put it? Also, did you use the existing resistor?

fishx65:
Running on 4 c's sounds like fun - would extended runs damage the emitter?